Snickerdoodles

I am probably breaking some unspoken blog rule by posting two days in a row, but I will excuse it this one time, because I’m excited to finally be blogging.

Despite how often I bake (and believe me, it’s a lot,) I am not a huge sweets lover.  I really treasure a recipe that is not send-you-into-a-sugar-coma, overwhelmingly sweet.  And so, I give you Snickerdoodles!

You will need:

1 cup part butter shortening

1 ½ cups sugar

2 ¾ cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp cream of tartar

1 tsp baking soda

2 eggs

And to roll your dough in:

3 tbsp sugar

3 tsp cinnamon

If you enjoy baking and do it often enough, I can’t stress enough how wonderful having a standing mixer is.  Mixing cookie dough with a hand mixer is absolutely miserable, and more often than not, I would just mix with my hands before my Kitchenaid – and there is nothing wrong with that!  The Kitchenaid simply makes things I-don’t-need-to-do-anything easy.

So, pre-heat your oven to 350, and mix your dough ingredients however you see fit.  For Snickerdoodles, your dough is going to be fairly dry, but not quite crumbly.

Image

Combine your cinnamon and sugar in a small bowl.  Roll the dough into ½ inch balls, and roll each bowl in the cinnamon sugar mix.  Place on a cookie sheet, with enough room in between cookies to allow for a little bit of spreading.  Bake for 8-12 minutes (definitely varies by oven.)

Image

Your Snickerdoodles will likely have little cracks in them.  In my humble opinion, that is what Snickerdoodles SHOULD look like.  Enjoy with a glass of milk, a cup of tea, really anything.  These are such a treat!

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Snickerdoodles

  1. Caroline says:

    YUM. I’ve been trying to eat healthy lately but…I am going to have to make these ASAP.

  2. Maya says:

    these look so good! my sisters are going to love them

  3. I love snickerydoodles. I am going to have to try out your recipe! I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect one (grandma won’t give hers up.)

    You should try my pumpkin snickerdoodle one that I just posted. 🙂

    • eatmyshortbread says:

      Recipe-hoarders kill me! I’m in the process of trying to convince my mom to let me share her fruit cake recipe, but to no avail — and I already have a can of pumpkin puree in anticipation of trying your recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

