Okonomiyaki – Cook What You Like!

I suppose it’s time for me to mix in a recipe that isn’t a baked good!  I grew up with the fortune of having a Japanese mother and an Italian father, which essentially meant being able to enjoy all the best foods all the time.  One of my favorite meals growing up was Okonomiyaki, which I have heard translated to both “everybody likes it” and “cook what you like.”  Basically, Okonomiyaki is a big old Japanese veggie pancake however you like it.  Here I will share with you the world’s easiest (and slightly Americanized, I suppose) way to prepare Okonomiyaki.

You will need:

1 standard sized bag of “cole slaw mix” (I mean, you could shred your own cabbage and carrots etc… but I’m all for saving time where I can when making dinner!)

-2 cups all-purpose flour

-2 cup water

-4 eggs

-Pinch of salt

-1 package of bacon

Honestly, I always use bacon for my Okonomiyaki, but more traditionally, shrimp, beef, or chicken is used.  You can really use anything you prefer in it, hence the name “cook what you like” 🙂

Image

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except bacon.  In a frying pan, over medium heat, fry (as many slices of) bacon as you would like on your first savory pancake.   When you flip your bacon to cook the second side, drain a bit of the grease, then scoop enough of the cabbage batter to cover the bacon with a thin-medium layer.  Allow the bacon to cook until crisp, also allowing the batter to cook.  Flip, and allow ample time to cook thoroughly—usually somewhere between 3-5 minutes.  You will know your Okonomiyaki is done when it is firm enough to flip/remove, and slightly browned.

Remove to a plate.  I eat my Okonomiyaki simple from here, with just a little bit of soy sauce.  Many people enjoy this dish with kewpie mayonnaise and okonomi sauce, or even prepared with fish flakes and hondashi, all likely purchasable at any oriental market.  Have fun with this recipe, the measurements don’t need to be exact; the recipe is forgiving and totally easy to play with!

Image

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Okonomiyaki – Cook What You Like!

  1. megphilips says:

    Yum!!!!!

  2. angelabean says:

    😀 I’m going to try thissss.

  3. Ashley says:

    I’ve never heard of this but wowwww it looks good!

Leave a Reply

