Banana Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

As expected, I bought too many bananas last week and let a few of them get a little too brown (oops?).  Instead of going my normal banana bread or banana muffin route, I thought I’d mix it up a little this week and bake up some yummy Banana Peanut Butter Chip cookies.  This was my first time making them, but they are totally a recipe I’m going to keep going back too.  They were so moist and delicious, they basically tasted like little banana muffin tops of goodness! I may suggest halving the recipe, because this made A LOT of cookies, however…

You will need:

1 cup sugar

½ cup butter

½ cup part butter shortening

1 tspp vanilla

2 eggs

1 cup smashes ripe bananas (I used 3)

½ cup milk + 1 tsp lemon juice (mix together before adding)

1 ½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

3 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

Optional (but as I’ve said before, I always add something extra to my banana treats!): 1 cup peanut butter chips, ½ cup mini chocolate chips

Image

Start by creaming together the sugar, butter, shortening, and vanilla until fluffy.  Add in the bananas, and then mix in the eggs.  Blend in milk/lemon juice mixture.  Add the dry ingredients until just combined, don’t overbeat!  Your batter will be fairly loose and sticky.  Drop by tablespoons onto a greased cookie sheet.  Bake for 9-12 minutes, until slightly golden, and cool completely.

I may have made a ridiculous amount of these, but as far as I’m concerned there’s no such thing as too many banana cookies 🙂 What do you like to make with your too-ripe bananas?

 Image

 

Image

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Banana Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

  1. Nom! Love those. And I like how your nails coordinate with the cookies. 🙂

  2. I just made banana bread with my too ripe bananas, unfortunately I always try to health-ify my baked goods and this loaf was lacking a bit. Could have used more sugar + more bad for you things!

Leave a Reply

