Honey Mustard Pretzel Crusted Chicken

If there is one thing this blog has done for me so far, it’s that it’s shown me how detailed I get with my baking, and how minimalist I am with cooking.  When it comes to dinner, I’m always just trying to put together the easiest combination of quick and delicious as humanly possible, while still making it look like I care.  So, ladies and gents, today we’ve got a quick recipe that will be sure to convince whoever you’re feeding that you know how to cook!

For Honey Mustard Pretzel Crusted Chicken, you will need:

1 bag honey mustard and onion pretzels (or really any pretzel flavor you like—honey mustard just happens to be MY favorite for chicken.  I prefer the Snyder’s pretzel pieces, they seem the must flavorful!)

1-2 lbs chicken breasts

1-2 eggs, scrambled

Image

Pre-heat your oven to 375. There are two options for turning your pretzels into “breadcrumbs” – I prefer to double ziplock bag my pretzels and smash ‘em with a meat mallet, because I like chunkier pieces of pretzel on my chicken.  If you want more of a real breadcrumb effect, throwing the pretzels into your blender and grinding them up takes all of 30 seconds and works perfect!  Once you have your pretzels to the desired state, dip your chicken in egg, and then dip it into the pretzel crumbs.  Repeat with each breast, placing the breaded breasts onto a lined baking sheet.  If you have extra pretzel crumbs, it certainly doesn’t hurt to sprinkle them on top before cooking!  I slice my chicken breasts pretty thin, so baking for me takes about 10-15 minutes tops – depending on the thickness of your chicken breasts, your baking time will vary.  If you think your chicken is done, slice in to the thickest breast and make sure there is NO pink in the middle.

That’s literally all there is to it!  This dinner is always well-received in my house, and is a great way to mix up your normal breaded chicken.  I usually have a little honey mustard on hand for dipping, but I may be obsessed.  Serve with anything, because this chicken is perfect and it doesn’t even matter.

Image

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Honey Mustard Pretzel Crusted Chicken

  1. I think I may have to try this! Thank you for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

