Challah French Toast

I’m a big fan of Sunday Brunch, and a huge advocate for breakfast for dinner (or lunch or breakfast or fourth meal…).  Breakfast food is my absolute favorite and I could probably eat only eggs for the rest of my life and be pretty happy.  Having a special breakfast was a really exciting holiday tradition when I was a kid, where my mom would always make gooey cinnamon rolls and Challah French Toast.  I guess now that I’m an “adult” (I use this term loosely,) I can technically have this any time I want, but I usually still like to save it for a comfy holiday morning.

You will need:

1 loaf of (preferably day old) Challah bread, sliced thick.

4 eggs

2/3 cup milk

2 tsp ground cinnamon

Image

Start by beating eggs, milk, and cinnamon together until well blended, and pour into a shallow bowl.  Dip each slice of bread into the egg mixture, allowing bread to soak up some of the mixture. Melt some butter (or use vegetable oil, or just spray on some Pam nonstick spray) over a large skillet on medium high heat. Add as many slices of bread onto the skillet as will fit at a time. Fry until brown on both sides, flipping the bread when necessary.  Serve hot, with butter, maple syrup, chocolate chips, berries, and/or powdered sugar– whatever you want to top it with 🙂

Image

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Challah French Toast

  1. Yum! I love challah. I would eat it with everything if I could – that sweet, eggy bread is superior to all others, is it not? This French toast looks awesome – I hope you’re making it for everyone the day after Thanksgiving! 🙂

Leave a Reply

