Red Velvet White Chocolate Chip Cookies

Red velvet cake is by far my favorite, so when I received a request to make some Red Velvet Cookies, I was all over it.  I promise I will post a non-cookie recipe some time in the near future, sometimes I go a little cookie wild/get lost in the vortex of never ending cookie recipes, but I always find my way out!

For Red Velvet White Chocolate Chip Cookies, you will need:

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsp cornstarch (not entirely necessary, but it keeps cookies soft and chewier :))
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
8 tbsp butter, at room temperature
5 tbsp shortening
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 1/2 tbsp white vinegar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp red food coloring
8 ounces white chocolate chips

Image

Pre-heat oven to 350.  In a large bowl, stir together flour, cocoa powder, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. In another bowl, beat butter, shortening and sugar till very pale and fluffy. Add egg and egg yolk and mix until combined. Add vinegar, vanilla and food coloring and mix until well blended. Slowly add in dry ingredients and mix just until combined. Mix in white chocolate chips.

Scoop heaping tablespoons of dough and place about 2 inches apart on  a prepared cookie sheet. Gently press a few of the remaining chocolate chips into the top of each cookie, then reshape dough into balls if necessary. Bake for 10-15 minutes, and allow to cool briefly before moving to a wire rack.

These cookies were chewy, moist, and delicious– next time, I may try doing a cream cheese glaze over them rather than the white chocolate chips, though they are bound to be delicious either way!

Image

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Red Velvet White Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. angela says:

    I hope you’re in my life forever so I can continue to admire your baked goods 4 lyf

  2. angela says:

    That’s a little redundant, I know.

Leave a Reply

