3 Ingredient Donut Holes

I really love the “holiday season.”  Like, really.  I could look at houses lit up for hours and I wish I could keep my Christmas tree up all year long.  December is such an awesome month for me to bake a million things and celebrate literally everything.  For the last decade, I’ve also been fortunate enough to become part of my best friend’s family, and celebrate Chanukah with them each year– double the family love and celebration!

My beautiful friend Rachel (no blog for me to link, but she is an incredible copywriter for Zumba Headquarters :)) always knows how to put together an amazing Chanukah dinner, complete with matzoh ball soup from scratch and home made latkes, but the real star of the evening, and what I know I am always looking forward to, is her perfect little donut holes for dessert.  They couldn’t possibly be any easier or any more delicious!

You will need:

2 cans Pillsbury Homestyle Biscuits (we used the honey butter flavor, which was a GREAT decision)

48-60 ounces canolla oil (depending on how deep your pot is– you’ll want a few inches of oil)

1 cup sugar

2 tbsp orange zest (optional, but really encouraged)

Image

Start off by heating up your oil in a large pot, on medium-high heat.  Be careful not to have your oil steaming or boiling, we want this to be just hot enough to cook up your donuts.

Open up your biscuits, and cut them into fours.  Roll each quarter into little balls.  If you’re going to use the orange zest, prepare that and put it into a bag with your sugar, and shake it up.

Test your oils heat by breaking a little piece of dough off and putting it in the oil.  If it begins to slightly bubble immediately, your oil is ready.  If it burns quickly, turn your heat down and give it substantial time to cool off.

Carefully place your dough balls in the oil and allow them to cook for 1-2 minutes, until golden brown.  I suggest testing ONE ball first, so you can open it once it’s brown and make sure it is fully cooked in the center.  Remove the balls from the oil, place them in the bag of sugar, and shake ’em up!  Repeat with remaining dough balls.

When I tell you these are some of the most amazing treats ever, I mean it.  So easy, and so delicious.  Try them with powdered sugar, with or without orange zest, or with whatever flavor you prefer!  You won’t be disappointed 🙂

Image

3

Tagged , , , ,

9 thoughts on “3 Ingredient Donut Holes

  1. oh my god I want these so bad

  2. mmmarzipan says:

    Yum! Wish we had that dough available here!

  3. Maya says:

    I WANT TO EAT THE WHOLE BOWL OF THEM. they look so good!!!

  4. Michelle Blackley says:

    Reblogged this on City Girl Country and commented:
    12 Days of Christmas – Donut Holes

  5. […]  I’m a sucker for short ingredient lists, though (see: 3 Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies, 3 Ingredient Donut Holes, etc.), and it seemed harmless enough to […]

Leave a Reply

