Classic Waffles

One of the great gifts I received this holiday was a perfect little waffle press from my boyfriend, something I’ve been dying for for a long time but could never just pull the trigger on.  Typically I steer clear of buying appliances that have only one use and primarily take up counter space, mostly because I’m young and broke and rent a house with minimal counter space (otherwise I’d own literally everything, lets be real), but a waffle press is a very important exception, because I am obsessed with breakfast food (and also it’s awesome.)

While I’m well aware that you can pretty much put any muffin mix in your waffle maker for the ultimate easy waffle fest (side note- I’ve tried it, and it’s awesome), I thought I’d start off my waffle addiction right with a proper from scratch recipe 🙂

You will need:

6 eggs
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 cup sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon baking powder

(note: I halved my recipe; the full recipe makes about 6 waffles)

Image

Start off by pre-heating your waffle iron on the highest setting– the hotter the better!

Beat together your eggs, oil, milk, vanilla, and sugar. Mix together your flour, salt, and baking powder, then whisk into the wet ingredients. Typically, you want to try not to over-whisk your waffles, so having them look a little lumpy is totally ok 🙂  The baking times/amount of batter per waffle will vary by your waffle iron, so bake as directed, and enjoy!  We did our waffles dessert style this night, and I couldn’t be more pleased with the result!

Image

Image

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Classic Waffles

  1. These look amazing per usual, thank you for sharing your recipe 🙂

    Georgina at: http://notesonlifestylebygeorgina.com

    p.s. tell me if putting my blog link my “signature” is annoying b/c I’ll stop lol

  2. Ashley says:

    I am really picky about what appliances I have, too! And I have a place with decent space but I know someday it will fill up and I’ll be in trouble. If it makes you feel any better, I have a waffle maker. It’s worth the “taking up space.” You’ll have to try my pumpkin whole wheat waffles sometime, when you are on a health kick. 🙂

Leave a Reply

