Candy Cane Kiss Blossoms

Happy New Year!  Hope everyone had a safe and wonderful celebration!

I was organizing my baking cabinet yesterday evening (which, by the way, is the literal worst thing in the world to do), and realized I had been hoarding a bag of white chocolate candy cane Kisses.  I usually like to hide a bag of these in my pantry and re-discover them in 2 months when they’re not in stores anymore and give myself a pat on the back for remembering them, because they are the absolute best kiss and nothing else compares.  But I quickly realized I should be blogging something that includes this seasonal delicacy before the time to buy them is up and nobody can really appreciate it!

Clearly I’m no stranger to blossom cookies (see: I want to swim in a sea of peanut butter blossoms), so the obvious choice for these kisses is Candy Cane Kiss Blossoms 🙂

You will need:

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 1/4 cup unsalted butter at room temperature

1 tsp peppermint extract

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 large egg

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup finely chopped white chocolate candy cane Kisses

Granulated sugar, for rolling

About 30 unwrapped candy cane kisses

Image

Pre-heat your oven to 350, and make some room in your fridge or freezer for cookie sheets.  Place your unwrapped kisses in the fridge while preparing the dough and baking.  If you’re used to making peanut butter blossoms and think I’m being over-prepared, don’t test it!  The consistency of the white chocolate kisses is totally different from the milk chocolate, and if you don’t keep the kisses cool, they will melt into a puddle of red and white blob!

In a large bowl, combine butter, powdered sugar, egg, and extracts.  In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt.  Add the flour mixture to your wet mixture, and combine completely.  Add your chopped kisses, and mix thoroughly.  Roll your dough into 1-inch balls, roll in sugar, and place on a cookie sheet.  Bake for 10-12 minutes, until they are set and just barely browning on the edges.

As soon as you remove the cookies from the oven, press your unwrapped kisses into the center of the cookie.  Your cookies will crack a little– just be gentle 🙂  Immediately place the cookies into the fridge or freezer and allow them to cool completely.  Seriously, don’t skip this step if you want them to keep their kiss shape!

These cookies are JUST minty enough (not even CLOSE to overwhelming) and if I didn’t promise myself I’d handle portion control in 2013, I would have eaten 10 of them last night alone.

Image

and a little look at what happens when you can’t wait to let them cool… oops!

Image

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Candy Cane Kiss Blossoms

  1. mmmarzipan says:

    You’ve done it again! They look fabulous! 🙂

  2. Mei says:

    These are so pretty! And yeah cleaning out my baking cabinet usually leads to me eating half a bag of oreo cookies by myself because I’m not sure how long until they go bad…or maybe that’s just my excuse. 😛

  3. Ashley says:

    What’s great is that I organized my cabinet on New Years day, ha! I had a container of molasses tip over on the top shelf and somehow leak out. It made a huge mess! I love mint anything, but candy cane kisses are amazing. I will have to add this to my list to try!

  4. daisyandthefox says:

    these look so cute and nourish! so easy to pop one in the mouth! 🙂
    what a great way to use up old candy cane!

    and by the way loving the blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

