Baked Sweet Potato Chips

Obviously it’s a rare occasion to find a non-baked good recipe on my blog.  I’m working on it, guys!  My baking skills far surpass my cooking skills, and almost everything I cook is really basic and repetitive (i.e. I make stir fry approximately seven days a week.)  Let’s call that something to appreciate– any recipe I post here will probably be extremely simple, and this one is no exception! 🙂

I really love sweet potatoes in all forms, and I really, really love potato chips, so this one is kind of a no-brainer.  I typically either season mine with salt or my favorite Cajun seasoning.  These are also great if you like your sweet potatoes to stay sweet… Sprinkle a little cinnamon instead!

When I first started making these, I was torturing myself slicing the potato by hand and trying to get them thin enough.  I quickly wised up and realized I could get a mandolin slicer really cheap, and cut my slice time down to under a minute!  My mom was sweet enough to gift me mine, but they’re fairly cheap, under $20 at Target!  Also great for potatoes au gratin, apple chips, potato chips, etc!

You will need:

1 sweet potato

Olive oil

Seasoning of your choice, to taste

Image

Pre-heat your oven to 375.  Slice up your sweet potatoes as thin as possible.  Place your potato slices in a large bowl.  Add enough olive oil to lightly coat the potatoes.  You can also use olive oil nonstick spray, it works just as well!  The amount you use will vary based on the size of the potato you’ve used, just splash a little in and coat, adding more if necessary 🙂  Season your potatoes to taste.  On a prepared cookie sheet (I lined mine with tin foil for easier clean up), place slices in a single layer.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, until potatoes are crispy and browned on the edges.  If you’ve sliced your chips a little thicker, adjust cooking times accordingly.

Cheap, simple, healthy, and totally delicious– you’ll never have to buy sweet potato chips again!

Image

Tagged , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Baked Sweet Potato Chips

  1. These look AWESOME! I love heating up sweet potatoes with a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg and sugar so maybe I’ll try that!

  2. These look so GOOD! I can never get myself to slice them up that thin because I’m lazy but I think I might try it.

    • Thanks Maya! I can’t even stress enough how easy it is to get them this thin with the mandolin slicer… I’m talking under a minute to slice my whole sweet potato! It’s really what dreams are made of.

  3. elisebakes says:

    Looks delicious – I really want to try this!

  4. A healthy option…gasp! Still love you anyways.

  5. Leah says:

    I’m making sweet potato chips for the first time tonight! Thanks for the inspiration – yours look amazing. 🙂

    • How did they turn out? 🙂

      • Leah says:

        Well, I cut myself on my mandoline haha but other than that, they were delicious! I was a little nervous because they were starting to brown and didn’t seem crispy but after I pulled them out of the oven and let them sit for a couple minutes, they crisped right up. I’ll definitely be making them again! Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

