Liefmans Cuvée Brut (Cherry Beer) Cupcakes

We’re coming up on Valentines Day (sort of,) so you can most definitely look forward to seeing a few themed recipes coming up– this is totally normal for me, however this year, there’s a special twist 🙂  I’ve been asked to provide desserts for a Valentines Day event for a local Craft Beer Bar & Kitchen called Tap 42, so you will have the pleasure of seeing the recipes I’m bringing along!

One special request I had was to make a cupcake that actually incorporated one of the amazing beers that the restaurant has this time of year, Liefmans Cuvée Brut.  I’ve never baked with beer, so I really wanted to test this recipe out before I committed to having them serve it on Valentines Day.  Liefmans Cuvée Brut is a brown beer macerated with fresh whole cherries, and was great in these cupcakes.  Honestly, this base would be good with any fruity beer, or even champagne 🙂

You will need:

3 large egg whites, room temperature
1 cup Liefmans Cuvée Brut (or your fruity beer of choice)
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
¾ cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature

Image

Pre-heat your oven to 350.  In a small bowl, mix together your beer and egg whites and set aside.  In a large bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Mix butter in until your ingredients look like dry crumbles.  Mix in wet ingredients until fully combined.  I actually threw in a few drops of food coloring halfway through dividing my batter into the cupcake pan when I realized I wanted pink cupcakes, so if you want to add a little color, now’s the time!  Fill each cake to about 3/4 full, and bake for about 12-15 minutes.  You’ll know the cakes are done when you touch the top and they lightly spring back.

I topped mine off with the same Vanilla Buttercream I always use 🙂  These were the right amount of sweet and didn’t have an overwhelming taste of beer.  They were well received by all of my beer loving friends who helped me test the recipe, so this one’s a keeper!

Image

Image

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Liefmans Cuvée Brut (Cherry Beer) Cupcakes

  1. elisebakes says:

    These look great! It’s always exciting when you have a hit the first time you make a recipe! I’ve awarded you with the “I’m a Baking Enthusiast” award. If you’d like to participate, you can find the rules here: http://elisebakes.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/im-a-baking-enthusiast-award/

  2. Y U M! After you posted on Twitter I had to come check these out. I really need to get my act together as far as Valentine’s Day themed recipes go because I feel shameful after seeing these pretty cupcakes.

  3. angela says:

    Anything pink always looks delicious 😀

  4. These are so unique! Perfect for any beer lover! Yum.

  5. You’re always making the coolest things! I volunteer to be one of your taste testers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

