Rainbow Pinwheel Cookies

Today isn’t a proper recipe, but more of a fun thing to do with sugar cookie dough.  I came across these Rainbow Pinwheel Cookies on Pinterest and basically fell in love and had to re-create them.  So cute and Dr. Seuss-y!  I used my Easy Sugar Cookie recipe for the dough, and from there, you’ll just need some food coloring.

Image

Pre-heat your oven to 350.  Once your cookie dough is prepared, separate it into 4-5 bowls, depending on how many colors you want in your cookie.  I used Neon food coloring, and about 3 drops in each different bowl.  Add food coloring to each chunk of dough and mix completely.  Roll the dough into small, grape-sized balls.

Take a your dough balls, one of each color, and roll them together.  You’ll get a larger ball that looks like a beach ball.  Roll the dough out into about an 8 inch cylinder.  Twist your cylinder a little so you see different colors when it’s laying on a flat surface, then twist the cylinder into a pinwheel cookie shape.  Roll the edges of your raw cookie in sprinkles, place on a cookie sheet, and bake for 8-10 minutes, until set and browning on the edges.

My cookies didn’t turn out QUITE as stunning as the ones on Pinterest, but they were still totally adorable, and I’d definitely make them again!

Image

Image

PS- if you enjoy reading my blog, please take a moment to vote for me in the Best Recipe Blog category of The Homies Awards, I’m in the top 6 now, and I’d love to stay there so I can advance to the next round 🙂  You have to sign up, but I promise it takes less than 30 seconds!

http://www.thekitchn.com/best-recipe-blog-the-homies-2013-183570homie

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Rainbow Pinwheel Cookies

Leave a Reply

