Homemade Cheez It Crackers

Although I’m in a never-ending state of baking, I actually really prefer a salty snack to a sweet one.  I’m fortunate that I live with two boys who will never turn down cookies or cupcakes, because I LOVE to bake, but really, I’d typically choose chips over cookies.  I came across a few cheese cracker recipes at Smitten Kitchen and figured they looked pretty easy, and worth trying my own version of.  I love Cheez Its, and it’s pretty hard to ruin a cheese cracker, so I felt pretty confident– and rightly so.  These tasted exactly like the real deal, possibly even better… and they were easy!

You will need:

1 1/2 – 2 cups extra sharp cheddar, grated
4 tablespoons butter, room temperature
3/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon garlic salt
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon milk

Image

Pre-heat your oven to 350 and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.  In a large bowl, combine cheese, flour, garlic salt, and salt.  Begin to combine butter, and mix until the ingredients become meal-y.  Add your milk and combine thoroughly.  On a lightly floured surface, roll your dough out, about 1/8 of an inch thick.  Using a pizza cutter, cut strips in both up and down, 1-inch thick, so that each cracker is a 1-inch square.  Place crackers on a cookie sheet and poke a little hole in the top (I used the top end of an attachment for my hand mixer, be resourceful!). Bake for 12-15 minutes, until edges are slightly browned.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Perfect warm, perfect cooled– I can’t tell you how long they will last when stored, because I literally ate them all within 2 days.  I can only encourage you to double, triple, quadruple the recipe, because self control will be a think of myth once you try these 🙂

Image

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Homemade Cheez It Crackers

Leave a Reply

