Mashed Potatoes

Happy Friday!  I feel like I’ve been pretty MIA this week, I’m sorry!  Between my birthday and a special project I’ve been working on, I don’t know where my time has gone– hope to be able to share some exciting news with you guys soon! 🙂  You can certainly look forward to more baked goods next week, but today I’ve got the best Mashed Potatoes base in the world.  These are great on their own, or perfect to throw some shredded cheddar and garlic into.  Customize them however you like your mashed potatoes, you won’t be disappointed!

You will need:

1 lb baking potatoes, peeled and quartered

2 tbsp unsalted butter

1/8 – 1/4 cup whole milk

salt and pepper, to taste

Image

I give you these measurements under the assumption that you are a normal human being capable of practicing self-control… I, on the other hand, lose sight of everything when I’m making mashed potatoes (they are one of my favorite foods!), so I typically use an entire 5 lb bag when making them, just in case you think my pictures seem like they have A LOT of butter 🙂

Fill a large sauce pan with water and bring it to boil.  Place your peeled and quartered potatoes in the boiling water and cook until tender, but still firm; about 15-20 minutes.  Drain the water.  Place potatoes in a large bowl with milk and butter, and using a potato masher or electric mixer, whip potatoes until smooth and creamy.  I suggest using a lesser amount of milk to start, and adding more if needed– too much milk will make your potatoes a lot less fluffy!  Salt and pepper to taste, and enjoy with literally anything, because mashed potatoes are a godsend and you should probably eat an obscene amount of them.

Image

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Mashed Potatoes

  1. Erin says:

    I kid you not last night my husband asked “Why have you never made me homemade mashed potatoes?” Maybe this is a sign I should make them..

  2. Oh girl, it’s a sign FOR SURE!

Leave a Reply

