Peanut Butter Rice Krispies Treats

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m really bad at being wasteful.  If i have some type of ingredient leftover in my house, I will almost always find a use for it before it goes bad — I just try to separate any related recipes here a little so things don’t get redundant.  Some ingredients are easier to play with than others, and it doesn’t take too much hard work to figure out what to do with left over Rice Krispies cereal 🙂

You will need:

3 tablespoons unsalted butter 
4 cups miniature marshmallows
1/2 cup peanut butter
6 cups Rice Krispies

ImageIn large saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat. Stir in peanut butter until melted (I made the last second decision to add peanut butter and didn’t have a chance to combine it with the marshmallows separately– but I definitely encourage it). Add cereal and stir until well coated. Using buttered spatula or wax paper (or your fingers, whatever) evenly press mixture into 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan coated with cooking spray. Refrigerate and allow to cool completely.  Cut into 2-inch squares. I melted up some chocolate and drizzled it on top of mine 🙂

Image

 

Image

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Rice Krispies Treats

  1. I always forget how good homemade rice krispies treats are, I’ve gotta make these soon

  2. Oh yum! Now I’m hungry for rice krispies 🙂

  3. I thought you were a peanut butter expert but I see you are using Peter Pan…Jif is the bomb. If I teach you one thing in life, it is that Jif is better. Kthx. ❤

Leave a Reply

