Peanut Butter Cupcakes

I know it seems like I make a lot of things that include peanut butter, but that’s only because I make a lot of things that include peanut butter.  I’m a big fan of salty-sweet goodies, and anything peanut butter based really hits the spot for me.  These cupcakes are probably in the top 5 most delicious things I bake.  It’s a recipe I stumbled upon a long while ago while ago (and I don’t remember where!) while browsing through cupcakes, and I’ve made them countless, delicious times since.  I did plain cupcakes this time, but these are also great with a Reese’s Mini stuck in the middle before baking!

You will need:

2 cups brown sugar
1/2 cup shortening
1 cup peanut butter
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cream of tartar

Image

Preheat the oven to 325. Line a cupcake pan with paper liners.  In a large bowl, mix together the brown sugar, shortening and peanut butter until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt; stir into the batter alternately with the milk. Spoon into the prepared muffin cups, about 3/4 full.

Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until the top of the cupcakes spring back when lightly pressed. Cool in the pan for at least 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.  I topped these off with a chocolate buttercream (here is my favorite recipe– I can’t take credit for it!), although my boyfriend has told me these babies are so amazing, they don’t even need to be frosted 🙂

Image

 

Image

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cupcakes

  1. I have made chocolate versions with pb cups in the middle but I must try these. My husband is a pb monster too!

  2. Peanut butter is everything to me. A+

  3. Super cute! 🙂 Peanut butter is delicious!

Leave a Reply

