Homemade Tagalongs

Alright guys, round 3!  I saved MY personal favorite for Friday — don’t get me wrong, I don’t discriminate against girl scout cookies, but as you guys know very well, I’m a peanut butter fiend, so it’s no shock that Tagalongs have a special place in my heart 🙂  These were MUCH easier than the Samoas, equally as delicious, and I think the closest looking to the real thing of all the cookies I made!  As with the Samoas, these start off with a base of Trefoils, so…

You will need:

The ingredients to make Trefoils, instructions found here, but here are the ingredients to have handy:

1 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons milk

For the rest:

1 1/2 cups creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
8 oz milk chocolate

If desired (I always desire), some shortening to add to your chocolate, which will help keep the melted chocolate smooth and workable longer.

Image

Prepare the dough according to the Trefoil recipe.  Pre-heat your oven to 350 while the dough is chilling. Once cooled, roll your dough out on a lightly floured surface, and use a round cutter to cut the shapes. Bake your batches of cookies one sheet at a time for 10-12 minutes, until the edges are golden brown. 

Using a spoon, small scoop, or your thumb, gently make an indentation in the center of each cookie while they’re fresh out of the oven and warm– this will create a perfect little well for the amazing peanut butter glory you’re about to add to them!

In a small bowl, sift the powdered sugar into the peanut butter and mix well.  Stir in vanilla.  Once the cookies have cooled completely, it’s time to add your peanut butter — using a spoon, piping bag, or a plastic bag with the corner cut off, pipe your peanut butter into the indentation (side note — even if you don’t bake that often, even baking once a year makes buying one of these Wilton Cake Decorator devices, I use mine constantly and it makes things SO easy and SOOO pretty, and it’s only $15!  There is an “upgraded” stainless steel version that’s $35, PLEASE don’t waste your money on it, not only is it the exact same tool, but the plastic is notorious for breaking on it, and the cheaper one has lasted me twice as long!)

The final step is to coat these babies in chocolate.  Lay out a sheet of wax paper for your cookies to dry on once dipped.  Chop up your chocolate if you’re using a bar, or throw your chocolate chips in a bowl (with shortening, if you choose!) and microwave it in 30 second intervals, stirring between each, until smooth and melted.  Dip your cookies in the chocolate with a fork, give that fork a few jiggles and taps on the side of the bowl to remove the excess chocolate, and place cookies on waxed paper to cool.  As with the Samoas, I threw mine into the freezer — again, more delicious that way, and the quicker I can eat an embarrassing amount of them 🙂  Easy and delicious, and super impressive presentation!

Image

Image

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Homemade Tagalongs

  1. Jenni says:

    These are my husband’s favorite too! I just bought him 4 more boxes, but they aren’t going to last that long. I have a feeling I’ll be making these soon 🙂

  2. Tina Evans says:

    Oooh. I have to try these 🙂

  3. CateyLou says:

    These look amazing!! My husband’s fave girl scout cookie are Tagalongs (I have been known to eat boxes of them too…) so I will have to try this recipe out!!

  4. These are just too cute! I am loving this series.

Leave a Reply

