Honey Peanut Butter Cookies

Obviously I love peanut butter and all things peanut butter related, so I’m always interested in trying new delicious recipes. I found these Honey Peanut Butter Cookies on one of my favorite and most admired blogs, Crepes of Wrath, and knew I had to test ’em out– if Sydney says they’re the best, I knew I couldn’t be disappointed… And I absolutely was not!
You will need:
Ingredients
½ cup shortening
1 cup peanut butter (I used creamy, Sydney suggests crunchy– so go either way!)
1 cup honey
2 eggs
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1½ teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
Extra sugar for rolling

20130625-103236.jpg

Preheat your oven to 350. In a bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder and salt, and set aside. In a large mixing bowl, beat the shortening, peanut butter and honey together for 3-5 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, and combine. Begin to incorporate your dry ingredients to the peanut butter mixture until just combined. Roll rounded tablespoons of dough in the sugar and place on prepared baking sheets. If desired, make criss-crosses with a fork, and bake for 9-11 minutes. Let these babies cool for a moment on the cookie sheet before moving them to a different surface to cool completely. Enjoy with a big glass of milk!

Normally I’d be offended if my boyfriend told me he liked someone else’s cookies better than mine, but I couldn’t even be bothered by his love for these– the honey and shortening make for a chewy and special kind of sweet treat… they were hands down the best peanut butter cookies I have ever eaten 🙂

20130625-103327.jpg

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Honey Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Man I have not seen Peter Pan peanut butter in forever. I’m glad you like the cookies! These are my favorite and my base for anything peanut butter cookie related.

Leave a Reply

