Homemade NY Style Bagels

Alright you guys, I’m probably about to blow your mind. A few weeks ago, my talented friend Ashley at The Driven Cook sent my taste buds into a frenzy when she told me she was boiling and baking her own homemade bagels. Having never made bread before, I was a little concerned this would be a disaster for me, but I knew I absolutely had to give it a shot. Shockingly, it was totally easy, and my bagels turned out AMAZING! I cannot recommend this recipe enough 🙂

You will need:
2 teaspoons Active Dry Yeast
1 ½ Tablespoons of Granulated Sugar
1 ½ cups warm water
3 ½ Cups Bread Flour
1 ½ teaspoons Salt

You can also add whatever topping you’d like! I chose to do some plain and some sesame, but needless to say, the possibilities are endless

20130917-171219.jpg

Start these babies off by activating your yeast. Pour 1/2 cup of warm water into a small bowl, and gently stir in yeast and sugar. Allow this to sit for 5-10 minutes, until frothy. .

In a separate bowl, mix flour and salt together. Once combined, pour in the yeast mixture. Add in half of the remaining water and mix. If more water is needed to form dough, continue to add water, until it is nice and elastic-y. For this next step, I used my standing mixer with a dough hook attatchment and kneaded the dough for about 8 minutes. If you’re kneading by hand, do this for about 10 minutes, until the dough is more stiff and firm.

Lightly oil a large bowl and add the kneaded dough to it. Cover with a clean towel and allow to rise for one hour — try to stop yourself from peaking at the dough, you want the dough to remain untouched and free of drafty air the entire time it’s rising!

When dough has risen and doubled in size, punch it down. Divide the dough into eight equally-sized pieces, and shape them into smooth rounds. I initially tried to just roll them in my had, but I could get them quite smooth until I sort of pulled the dough out with my thumbs and rolled it down to the bottom. From here, coat your finger in flour and press it into the center of each dough ball, stretching it slightly to have a small hole in the middle. Place them on a lightly oiled baking sheet and let rise for 20-30 minutes.

Bring a large pot of water to boil and preheat your oven to 425. When the water is boiling, reduce the heat to a rapid simmer. Using a slotted spatula, drop in a bagel and let boil for 1-2 minutes per side (I went for about 1.5 minutes for a perfectly chewy bagel). Use the spatula to gently flip them over in the water. Once both sides have been boiled, remove from water and return to cookie sheet. Repeat with each bagel — I only did a few bagels at a time to be sure that I didn’t over boil any 🙂

If you are adding a topping, the best way to make them stick is with an egg wash – just beat one egg with a splash of water, and lightly coat your boiled bagels with the mixture. Sprinkle your toppings on and toss ’em in the oven and bake for 16-18 minutes. Try to let them cool on a wire rack before devouring… If you can!!

20130917-173715.jpg

20130917-173946.jpg

20130917-174014.jpg

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Homemade NY Style Bagels

  1. Gigi says:

    whatttt this looks perfect. Bookmarking this for the weekend!

  2. bitsofnice says:

    they look gorgeous!

  3. Maggie M. says:

    They look great! My favorite is asiago cheese or cinnamon crunch 🙂

  4. […] my recent success with my first time working with yeast (NY style bagels — if you haven’t tried these yet you’re doing something wrong with your life, I […]

Leave a Reply

